In Search of Lost Time - The Complete Seven-Book Series

eBook: In Search of Lost Time - The Complete Seven-Book Series

Sprache - Englisch

Jetzt kostenlos lesen mit der readfy App!

Über das eBook

Marcel Proust's magnum opus, 'In Search of Lost Time - The Complete Seven-Book Series,' is a monumental achievement in literary history, renowned for revolutionizing narrative structure and probing the depths of consciousness, memory, and time. The masterpiece unfurls in sumptuous prose, enveloping the reader in the rich inner world of its narrator, who grapples with the fleeting nature of experience and the yearnings of the human heart. From the anxious moments of childhood in 'Swann's Way' to the glittering social whirl of 'The Guermantes Way' and the poignant reflections of 'Time Regained,' Proust's series transcends its Belle Époque setting, attaining a timeless resonance with readers. It is a work that, once engaged with, becomes a defining part of one's own literary memory, much as Joyce's 'Ulysses'—its purported disciple—did for a subsequent generation of writers and thinkers. Proust himself, born into an affluent French family in the late 19th century, battled illnesses and the confines of societal expectations to create a work that would encapsulate his ruminations on love, art, and society. The profound influence of his personal experiences is well documented; his asthmatic condition and his mother's affection are rendered with tender precision in his writing, while his own navigation of social circles and introspection inform the series' broader themes. The depth with which he explores the human psyche suggests his extraordinary ability to distill life's complexities into a universal essence on the page. 'In Search of Lost Time' beckons readers with a penchant for literary mastery and the patience for Proust's deliberate pacing. It offers an enlightening journey for those who appreciate the delicate interplay between reality and perception, and who seek to delve into the nuances of emotional depths and existential musings. This epic work is not just a novel; it's a profound exploration of what it means to be human, promising to change not just the reader's understanding of literature, but of life itself.

Über den Autor

Valentin Louis Georges Eugène Marcel Proust, born on July 10, 1871, in Auteuil, France, is best known for his monumental work, 'In Search of Lost Time' - originally titled 'À la recherche du temps perdu.' This magnum opus is a seven-volume series written in French and is often hailed as one of the paramount achievements in modernist literature. Proust's narrative weaves through the themes of memory, time, and discovery, capturing the essence of the late 19th and early 20th century aristocratic French society through the eyes of the narrator. The expansive work delves into involuntary memory, exemplified in the famed 'madeleine episode' where a simple act of tasting a madeleine dipped in tea evokes profound recollections of the past. Proust's meticulous description and psychological insight contribute to his unique literary style, marked by long, intricate sentences and detailed, emotive analogies. His prose flows with a stream-of-consciousness technique that was revolutionary in its time. Proust's health was fragile due to asthma, which shaped his reclusive lifestyle and fed into his contemplative literary pursuits. Despite the challenges, he dedicated his life to the arts, influencing literature with his deep exploration of time and memory's subjective nature. Proust passed away on November 18, 1922, before the publication of the final volumes of his series, leaving a legacy that continues to resonate with and inspire readers and writers alike.

Produkt Details

Verlag: DigiCat

Genre: Sprache - Englisch

Sprache: English

Umfang: 2845 Seiten

Größe: 3,1 MB

ISBN: 8596547387268