The Complete Novels of Charlotte Brontë – All 5 Books in One Edition

eBook: The Complete Novels of Charlotte Brontë – All 5 Books in One Edition

Sprache - Englisch

Jetzt kostenlos lesen mit der readfy App!

Über das eBook

"Jane Eyre" follows the emotions and experiences of its character, including her growth to adulthood, and her love for Mr. Rochester. The focus is on the gradual unfolding of Jane's moral and spiritual sensibility and all the events are coloured by a heightened intensity. The novel contains elements of social criticism, with a strong sense of morality at its core.
"Shirley" is a social novel and is set in Yorkshire in the period 1811–12, during the industrial depression resulting from the Napoleonic Wars and the War of 1812. The novel is set against a backdrop of the Luddite uprisings in the Yorkshire textile industry.
"Villette' - After an unspecified family disaster, the protagonist Lucy Snowe travels from England to the fictional French-speaking city of Villette to teach at a girls' school, where she is drawn into adventure and romance.
"The Professor" was originally written before Jane Eyre but it was rejected by many publishing houses, and was eventually published posthumously in 1857. The book is the story of a young man, William Crimsworth, and is a first-person narrative from his perspective. It describes his maturation, his loves and his eventual career as a professor at an all-girls school.
"Emma" (unfinished) - Charlotte Brontë wrote only 20 pages of the manuscript, published posthumously in 1860. Another lady whom the name we don't know complete the later chapters.
Charlotte Brontë (1816–1855) was an English novelist and poet, the eldest of the three Brontë sisters who survived into adulthood and whose novels have become classics of English literature.

Produkt Details

Verlag: Musaicum Books

Genre: Sprache - Englisch

Sprache: English

Umfang: 1200 Seiten

Größe: 2,3 MB

ISBN: 9788027223695