The Complete Poetical Works of William Shakespeare

eBook: The Complete Poetical Works of William Shakespeare

Sprache - Englisch

Jetzt kostenlos lesen mit der readfy App!

Über das eBook

This unique collection of Shakespeare's greatest poetical works includes: The Sonnets Venus And Adonis The Rape Of Lucrece The Passionate Pilgrim The Phoenix And The Turtle A Lover's Complaint Shakespeare's sonnets are a collection of 154 sonnets, dealing with themes such as the passage of time, love, beauty and mortality, first published in a 1609 quarto entitled Shakespeares Sonnets. Venus and Adonis is a poem written in 1592–1593 and published in 1609. It recounts Venus' attempts to woo Adonis, their passionate coupling, and Adonis' rejection of the goddess, to which she responds with jealousy, with tragic results. The Rape of Lucrece, published in 1594, is a narrative poem focusing on the rape and tragic death of the title character and on the revenge that follows. The Passionate Pilgrim, published in 1599, is an anthology of 20 poems collected and published by William Jaggard that were attributed to "W. Shakespeare" on the title page, only five of which are considered authentically Shakespearean. These are two sonnets, later to be published in the 1609 collection of Shakespeare's sonnets, and three poems extracted from the play Love's Labour's Lost. The Phoenix and the Turtle, first published in 1601, is an allegorical poem about the death of ideal love, widely considered to be one of his most obscure works and has led to many conflicting interpretations. The poem describes a funeral arranged for the deceased Phoenix and Turtledove, the latter a traditional emblem of devoted love. A Lover's Complaint is a narrative poem published as an appendix to the original edition of Shakespeare's sonnets. It is given the title "A Lover's Complaint" in the book, which was published in 1609. William Shakespeare (1564 – 1616) was an English poet and playwright, widely regarded as the greatest writer in the English language and the world's pre-eminent dramatist.

Über den Autor

William Shakespeare, the preeminent playwright and poet of the English language, was born in April 1564 in Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England. His prodigious output includes 39 plays, 154 sonnets, and two long narrative poems. His writing career spanned the Elizabethan and early Jacobean eras, with his works divided into the categories of comedies, tragedies, and histories. Shakespeare's contributions to literature are unparalleled; his plays have been translated into every major living language and are performed more often than those of any other playwright. His deep psychological insight, understanding of the human condition, and mastery of language and meter are evident in texts such as 'The Complete Poetical Works of William Shakespeare.' This collection encompasses the breadth of Shakespeare's poetic oeuvre, from his sonnets, which explore themes of love, decay, and beauty, to his narrative poems. His stylistic innovations include the blank verse, which he used expertly to convey character psychology and emotion. Shakespeare's works are a cornerstone of English literature, and he is often referred to as the Bard of Avon. His legacy endures in the countless adaptations and interpretations of his works in theatre, film, and literature. He died on 23 April 1616, but his writing continues to challenge and delight audiences and scholars alike.

Produkt Details

Verlag: DigiCat

Genre: Sprache - Englisch

Sprache: English

Umfang: 768 Seiten

Größe: 572,1 KB

ISBN: 8596547001096