Chronicles of Barsetshire - Complete Series

ebook: Chronicles of Barsetshire - Complete Series

Sprache - Englisch

Read this eBook for free with the readfy App!

About the eBook

The 'Chronicles of Barsetshire' series emerges as a masterful tableau of Victorian society, woven by Anthony Trollope with keen perception and subtle humor. With a setting inspired by the pastoral landscape of England's West Country, these novels traverse the vicissitudes of the clergy and aristocracy in Barsetshire. Rich with social commentary and an intricately organized narrative structure, Trollope's prose beautifully captures the nuances of 19th-century English life. His fictional county of Barsetshire becomes an emblematic microcosm, revealing the complex interrelations of status, love, and politics. The painstakingly detailed characterization and the eloquence of the series invite readers into a world that blends fictional verisimilitude with real-life sensibilities of the era. Trollope, a contemporary of Charles Dickens, distinguishes his work with a distinct narrative voice that offers a softer yet equally critical take on the period's social hierarchies. A prolific writer with an enviable professional trajectory, Anthony Trollope was intricately familiar with the workings of British society, a result of his career in the Post Office and his keen observational skills. His firsthand awareness of social dynamics and the bureaucratic intricacies of Victorian England imbued his 'Chronicles' with authenticity and empathetic depth. The series' particular attention to clerical life is in part born of Trollope's personal dealings with the Church of England, through which he developed a nuanced understanding of its role within the community and its individual practitioners. As a result, the novels become not just narratives, but studies of human character, societal norms, and the subtle interplay between private and public life. The 'Chronicles of Barsetshire' series comes highly recommended for readers of classic literature seeking to indulge in the rich tapestry of Victorian narratives. Trollope's adept storytelling and the universal themes evident in the minutiae of his characters' lives make these novels enduring works that continue to offer insights into human nature and social structures. For scholars and enthusiasts of English literature, the series is also an invaluable window into the societal concerns and literary tastes of the 19th century, presented with charm and erudition through Trollope's timeless prose.

About the Author

Anthony Trollope (1815–1882) was an English novelist, renowned for his sharply observed portrayals of English social life and for being one of the most prominent authors of the Victorian era. Trollope's comprehensive understanding of the intricacies of British society is brilliantly reflected in his work. His 'Chronicles of Barsetshire' series, set in the imaginary English county of Barsetshire, is particularly celebrated for its rich depiction of the clergy and the gentry, and for its exploration of social and political issues relevant to the period. Trollope's literary style is characterized by a balanced narrative, a keen sense of character development, and a touch of satirical wit. Trollope was a prolific writer, having penned 47 novels, as well as short stories, essays, and travel books. Despite his later success, Trollope struggled in his early career, balancing his writing with his job as a postal official. Nevertheless, he rose to fame with novels such as 'The Warden' and 'Barchester Towers,' both part of the Barsetshire series. His novels are lauded for their realism and moral insight, offering a window into Victorian England seldom matched for breadth and depth. Trollope's influence can be seen in the works of later authors who have strived to emulate his approach to character and society.

Product Details

Publisher: DigiCat

Genre: Sprache - Englisch

Language: English

Size: 527 Pages

Filesize: 3.1 MB

ISBN: 8596547389002