The Emily Star Collection

eBook: The Emily Star Collection

Sprache - Englisch

Jetzt kostenlos lesen mit der readfy App!

Über das eBook

The author, Lucy Maud Montgomery, created another and better-known representative of Canadian girlhood in "Anne of Green Gables" and all the subsequent Anne books, but Emily was closer to her own heart. Like Anne, Emily is a strong-minded, gifted, imaginative child, left alone and unprotected in a harsh world, who is taken in by adults who are at least initially cold and unloving. Both girls grow up amid the beauties of Prince Edward Island, both keenly sensitive to natural splendors and highly fanciful, not to say occasionally precious, about assigning names to lakes and trees and identifying spirits and fairies in their surroundings. Anne is an original and spunky girl, with a certain amount of talent for writing verses and romantic tales, but Emily is a writer. In the celebrated Emily trilogy, of which Emily of New Moon is the first volume, Montgomery draws a more realistic portrait of a young girl's life on Prince Edward Island. The twin threads of bright and dark, love and cruelty, hope and despair intertwine in a pattern as significant as it is enduring. In the second volume, Emily Climbs, Lucy Maud Montgomery traces the often stormy course of Emily Starr's life as she moves from the world of childhood into that of school and adolescence. Emily's Quest is the last of the Emily trilogy. After finishing Emily Climbs, Montgomery suspended writing Emily's Quest and published The Blue Castle; she resumed writing and published in 1927. Lucy Maud Montgomery (1874-1942), was a Canadian author best known for a series of novels beginning with Anne of Green Gables. Montgomery went on to publish 20 novels as well as 530 short stories, 500 poems, and 30 essays.

Über den Autor

Lucy Maud Montgomery, most commonly known as L.M. Montgomery (November 30, 1874 – April 24, 1942), holds an indelible place in the literary world, primarily for her contribution to children's literature. Born in Clifton, now New London, Prince Edward Island, Canada, Montgomery's personal life fed into her rich, evocative literature. Her mother's death when she was just 21 months old, and her father's subsequent leaving, meant she was raised by her strict grandparents. These life experiences deeply informed her writing. A prolific writer, Montgomery published over 20 novels, numerous short stories, poems, and essays. Her most famous creation, 'Anne of Green Gables', eclipsed her subsequent works in popularity, although the 'Emily of New Moon' series, also highlights her signature style of strong, independent female protagonists who are imaginative and in touch with the natural world. The 'Emily Starr Collection', inclusive of 'Emily of New Moon', 'Emily Climbs', and 'Emily's Quest', is reflective of her literary genius showcasing a semi-autobiographical narrative—a bildungsroman that traces the life and aspirations of an orphan girl with a passion for writing. Montgomery's keen ability to blend poetic descriptions of the Canadian landscape with the turmoil and delight of her characters' internal worlds makes her one of the most beloved authors of her time. Her work continues to speak to readers many decades after her passing, underscoring her timeless appeal and her significant place in the canon of classic literature.

Produkt Details

Verlag: DigiCat

Genre: Sprache - Englisch

Sprache: English

Umfang: 850 Seiten

Größe: 767,7 KB

ISBN: 8596547400363