Ensign Knightley, and Other Stories

eBook: Ensign Knightley, and Other Stories

Sprache - Englisch

Jetzt kostenlos lesen mit der readfy App!

Über das eBook

A. E. W. Mason's 'Ensign Knightley, and Other Stories' is a collection of short stories that exemplify the author's mastery of storytelling and his keen observation of human nature. Set against the backdrop of the British Empire, these tales explore themes of courage, honor, sacrifice, and love in a stylistically engaging manner. Mason's prose is both elegant and accessible, making the stories a captivating read for literary enthusiasts and casual readers alike. The book's literary context provides a glimpse into the colonial era and offers a nuanced perspective on the complexities of power dynamics and personal relationships during that time period. Each story is a carefully crafted narrative that delves into the depths of the human experience, leaving a lasting impression on the reader.

Über den Autor

Alfred Edward Woodley Mason, typically known for his pen name A. E. W. Mason, was an accomplished English author born on May 7, 1865. His diverse oeuvre includes fictions and historical narratives, with a prominent prowess in crafting engaging and suspenseful stories. Among his extensive list of publications, 'Ensign Knightley, and Other Stories' illustrates Mason's versatility and command over the short story form, demonstrating his ability to encapsulate poignant moments and intricate character developments within the constraints of the brief narrative structure. Known for blending adventure with the psychological depth, Mason's literary style is often characterized by meticulous attention to detail and a deep understanding of human motivations and complexities. His storytelling, while grounded in the adventures and romances popular at the time, often revealed a subtler exploration of human nature and societal norms. This narrative talent solidified Mason's reputation beyond his lifetime, securing his place in the canon of early 20th-century British literature. Though Mason is famously remembered for his detective novel 'The Four Feathers,' his short stories, such as those in 'Ensign Knightley, and Other Stories', continue to be celebrated for their timeless appeal and artful construction. Mason's work transcends the period in which he wrote, remaining poignant for contemporary audiences. He passed away on November 22, 1948, leaving behind a rich literary legacy that continues to be studied and enjoyed.

Produkt Details

Verlag: DigiCat

Genre: Sprache - Englisch

Sprache: English

Umfang: 212 Seiten

Größe: 448,3 KB

ISBN: 8596547346128