The Complete Works: Charlotte, Emily, Anne, Patrick & Branwell Brontë

ebook: The Complete Works: Charlotte, Emily, Anne, Patrick & Branwell Brontë

Sprache - Englisch

Read this eBook for free with the readfy App!

About the eBook

The Complete Works: Charlotte, Emily, Anne, Patrick & Branwell Brontë gathers together the oeuvre of one of the most remarkable literary families in history. This collection transcends the boundaries of the novel, poetry, and personal correspondence, offering readers a comprehensive view of the intellectual and emotional breadth of the Brontë family. From the windswept moors of 'Wuthering Heights' to the rigid social confines of 'Jane Eyre,' the anthology showcases a diversity of literary styles and thematic concerns, illustrating the family's broad literary and social significance. The collection does not shy away from presenting the less widely known yet equally compelling works of Patrick and Branwell, alongside their more famous sisters, thereby enriching the Brontë narrative. Given their varied contributions to English literature, the backgrounds of Charlotte, Emily, Anne, Patrick, and Branwell Brontë form a fascinating collage of individual genius united by familial bonds. Each member brought their unique perspective to bear on the issues of their time, encompassing themes of gender, class, and identity. The collection aligns with the rise of Romanticism and prefigures the realism that would dominate the Victorian era, highlighting how these authors collectively contributed to the literary movements of their time, despite their varied thematic concerns and narrative techniques. This anthology is recommended for readers eager to immerse themselves in the complex world of the Brontës. It presents a unique opportunity to explore a rich tapestry of literary achievements within a single volume, providing educational value and deep insights into the era and its literature. By encompassing the collective works of all five family members, the book fosters a dialogue between the different authors' works, inviting readers to appreciate the depth and diversity of the Brontë literary legacy.

About the Author

Charlotte Brontë (1816–1855) remains one of the most influential British authors of the 19th century, renowned for her contributions to the English literature canon. Brontë's work is distinguished by its groundbreaking exploration of the female psyche and complex narrative styles. Born in Thornton, Yorkshire, she was the third of six children to Patrick Brontë and Maria Branwell. Charlotte, along with her sisters Emily and Anne, initially published poetry and novels under masculine pseudonyms to circumvent the gender biases of the period. Her most acclaimed novel, 'Jane Eyre' (1847), published under the name Currer Bell, is hailed for its incisive exploration of morality, social class, and gender relations through the lens of the eponymous protagonist. Equally important is the lesser-known 'Shirley' (1849), which addresses industrial unrest and the role of women in society, and 'Villette' (1853), a narrative that delves into isolation and the search for identity, which has garnered critical acclaim for its psychological depth and use of narrative voice. Her works collectively are published in 'The Complete Works: Charlotte, Emily, Anne, Patrick & Branwell Brontë,' which underscores the literary legacy of the Brontë family. Charlotte Brontë's literary style, characterized by its emotional realism, social criticism, and complex character development, continues to captivate scholars and readers alike, securing her place in the pantheon of great English writers.

Product Details

Publisher: DigiCat

Genre: Sprache - Englisch

Language: English

Size: 5031 Pages

Filesize: 3.5 MB

ISBN: 8596547762928