The Complete Rougon-Macquart Cycle (All 20 Unabridged Novels in one volume)

ebook: The Complete Rougon-Macquart Cycle (All 20 Unabridged Novels in one volume)

Sprache - Englisch

Read this eBook for free with the readfy App!

About the eBook

This carefully crafted ebook: "The Rougon-Macquart Cycle: Complete Collection - ALL 20 Novels In One Volume" is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents. Les Rougon-Macquart is the collective title given to a cycle of twenty novels by French writer Émile Zola. Subtitled "Natural and social history of a family under the Second Empire", it follows the life of one family during the Second French Empire (1852–1870). In this tremendous work Zola first and foremost examines the impact of social environment on men and women, by varying the social, economic, political and professional milieu in which each novel takes place. It provides us with a close look at everyday life, gives us a deep insight into important social changes and it shows us the true people's history of the Second Empire. Table of Contents: The Fortune of the Rougons (La Fortune des Rougon) The Kill (La Curée) The Belly of Paris (Le Ventre de Paris) The Conquest of Plassans (La Conquête de Plassans) The Sin of Father Mouret (La Faute de l'Abbé Mouret) His Excellency Eugène Rougon (Son Excellence Eugène Rougon) The Drinking Den (L'Assommoir) One Page of Love (Une Page d'amour) Nana Piping Hot (Pot-Bouille) The Ladies' Paradise (Au Bonheur des Dames) The Joy of Life (La Joie de vivre) Germinal The Masterpiece (L'Œuvre) The Earth (La Terre) The Dream (Le Rêve) The Beast in Man (La Bête humaine) Money (L'Argent) The Downfall (La Débâcle) Doctor Pascal (Le Docteur Pascal) Émile Zola (1840-1902), French novelist, critic, and political activist who was the most prominent French novelist of the late 19th century. He was noted for his theories of naturalism, which underlie his monumental 20-novel series Les Rougon-Macquart, and for his intervention in the Dreyfus Affair through his famous open letter, "J'accuse."

About the Author

Émile Zola (1840–1902) was a monumental figure in the development of literary naturalism and a pivotal force in the political liberalization of France. His works offer a panoramic view of French social life during the Second Empire (1852-1870) through the lens of a diverse cast of characters, with a particular focus on the interconnected lives of the Rougon-Macquart family. In his seminal 20-novel series, 'The Complete Rougon-Macquart Cycle,' Zola examines themes of heredity, environment, and the impact of social conditions on human behavior.

Zola's novels, replete with vivid characterizations and intricate plot dynamics, showcase his commitment to representing the real-world details of industrialization, including the squalor and inequality it wrought. His influence on literature is profound, with his methodical approach to storytelling and his insistence on thorough research for his novels, including works such as 'Germinal' and 'L'Assommoir.' His role in the Dreyfus Affair, notably through his open letter 'J'accuse…!' further cements his status as a fearless advocate for justice, demonstrating how his work extended well beyond the written page. Zola's impact permeates not only the literary world but also the realms of social activism and political discourse.

Product Details

Publisher: DigiCat

Genre: Sprache - Englisch

Language: English

Size: 2450 Pages

Filesize: 7.1 MB

ISBN: 8596547720645