William Dean Howells - Premium Collection: 27 Novels in One Volume (Illustrated)

ebook: William Dean Howells - Premium Collection: 27 Novels in One Volume (Illustrated)

Sprache - Englisch

Read this eBook for free with the readfy App!

About the eBook

This carefully crafted ebook: "William Dean Howells - Premium Collection: 27 Novels in One Volume (Illustrated)" is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents.
William Dean Howells (1837-1920) was an American realist author, literary critic, and playwright. Nicknamed "The Dean of American Letters", he was particularly known for his tenure as editor of the Atlantic Monthly as well as his own prolific writings, including the Christmas story "Christmas Every Day", and the novels The Rise of Silas Lapham and A Traveler from Altruria. Howells is known to be the father of American realism, and a denouncer of the sentimental novel. He was the first American author to bring a realist aesthetic to the literature of the United States. His stories of Boston upper crust life set in the 1850s are highly regarded among scholars of American fiction.
Table of Contents:
William Dean Howells by Charles Dudley Warner
A Forgone Conclusion
A Chance Acquaintance
A Modern Instance
A Pair of Patient Lovers
A Traveler from Altruria
An Open-Eyed Conspiracy
Annie Kilburn
April Hopes
Dr. Breen's Practice
Fennel and Rue
Indian Summer
Questionable Shapes
Ragged Lady
The Coast of Bohemia
The Kentons
The Lady of Aroostook
The Landlord at Lion's Head
The Leatherwood God
The Minister's Charge
The Quality of Mercy
The Rise of Silas Lapham
The Story of a Play
Through the Eye of the Needle
The Flight of Pony Baker
The March Family Trilogy:
Their Wedding Journey
A Hazard of New Fortunes
Their Silver Wedding Journey
Reminiscences and Autobiography
A Boy's Town
Years of My Youth

Product Details

Publisher: e-artnow

Genre: Sprache - Englisch

Language: English

Size: 2980 Pages

Filesize: 5.9 MB

ISBN: 9788026848875