Algernon Blackwood: The Complete Supernatural Stories

ebook: Algernon Blackwood: The Complete Supernatural Stories

Sprache - Englisch

Read this eBook for free with the readfy App!

About the eBook

Algernon Blackwood (1869-1951) was an English short story writer and novelist, one of the most prolific writers of ghost stories in the history of the genre. He was also a journalist and a broadcasting narrator. S. T. Joshi has stated that "his work is more consistently meritorious than any weird writer's except Dunsany's." Though Blackwood wrote a number of horror stories, his most typical work seeks less to frighten than to induce a sense of awe.
A Haunted Island
A Case of Eavesdropping
The Empty House
Keeping His Promise
With Intent to Steal
The Wood of the Dead
Smith: An Episode in a Lodging House
A Suspicious Gift
The Strange Adventures of a Private Secretary in New York
Skeleton Lake
The Willows
The Woman's Ghost Story
The Dance of Death
The Old Man of Visions
The Insanity of Jones
The Listener
May Day Eve
Max Hensig
Miss Slumbubble — and Claustrophobia
Ancient Sorceries
A Psychical Invasion
The Nemesis of Fire
Secret Worship
The Camp of the Dog
The Occupant of the Room
The Terror of the Twins
Entrance and Exit
You May Telephone from Here
The Wendigo
The Sea Fit
Old Clothes
Carlton's Drive
The Lost Valley
The Man from the "Gods"
The Eccentricity of Simon Parnacute
The Price of Wiggins's Orgy
The Man Who Played Upon the Leaf
The Glamour of the Snow
The Deferred Appointment
The Return
The Transfer
Dream Trespass
The Man Whom the Trees Loved
The South Wind
The Messenger
The Attic
The Heath Fire
The Temptation of the Clay
Ancient Lights
The Golden Fly
Special Delivery
The Destruction of Smith
The Goblin's Collection
The Whisperers
The Second Generation
The Man Who Found Out
The Tradition
The Doll
The Trod
Accessory Before the Fact
The House of the Past
The Sacrifice
The Damned
The Pikestaffe Case
The Prayer
The Secret
Strange Disappearance of a Baronet
The Lease
Up and Down
Faith Cure on the Channel
The Invitation
The Impulse
Her Birthday
Two in One
Let Not the Sun
Jimbo's Longest Day
News vs. Nourishment
If the Cap Fits
The Winter Alps
By Water
A Victim of Higher Space
The Regeneration of Lord Ernie
A Descent into Egypt
The Falling Glass
The Other Wing
An Egyptian Hornet
The Touch of Pan
The Tryst
The Wings of Horus
A Desert Episode
A Bit of Wood
H. S. H.
Cain's Atonement
The Little Beggar
Chinese Magic
The Valley of the Beasts
The Decoy
The Empty Sleeve
Running Wolf
First Hate
The Olive
The Wolves of God
The Tarn of Sacrifice
The Call
Egyptian Sorcery
Wireless Confusion
The Lane That Ran East and West
Vengeance Is Mine
The Man Who Was Milligan
Alexander Alexander

Product Details

Publisher: Pocket Classic

Genre: Sprache - Englisch

Language: English

Size: 1961 Pages

Filesize: 2.3 MB

ISBN: 9782380375640