George Orwell: The Complete Novels (The Greatest Novelists of All Time – Book 7)

ebook: George Orwell: The Complete Novels (The Greatest Novelists of All Time – Book 7)

Sprache - Englisch

Read this eBook for free with the readfy App!

About the eBook

E-artnow presents to you the complete novels by one of the greatest novelists of English literature. This edition includes:
"Burmese Days" – a tale from the waning days of British colonialism, when Burma was ruled from Delhi as a part of British India–a portrait of the dark side of the British Raj.
"A Clergyman's Daughter" – which tells the story of Dorothy Hare, the clergyman's daughter of the title, whose life is turned upside down when she suffers an attack of amnesia.
"Keep the Aspidistra Flying" – is set in 1930s London. The main theme is Gordon Comstock's romantic ambition to defy worship of the money-god and status, and the dismal life that results.
"Coming Up for Air" – Published shortly before the outbreak of World War II, this novel combines premonitions of the impending war with images of an idyllic Thames-side Edwardian era childhood.
"Animal Farm" – is an allegorical novel which reflects events leading up to the Russian Revolution of 1917 and then on into the Stalinist era of the Soviet Union.
"1984" – a political and dystopian science-fiction novel set in Airstrip One, a province of the superstate Oceania. The story is about a mind-numbing world in a state of perpetual war, omnipresent government surveillance and public manipulation.

About the Author

George Orwell (1903-1950) whose real name was Eric Arthur Blair was an English novelist, essayist, journalist and critic. His work is marked by lucid prose, awareness of social injustice, opposition to totalitarianism, and outspoken support of democratic socialism.

Product Details

Publisher: e-artnow

Genre: Sprache - Englisch

Language: English

Size: 1304 Pages

Filesize: 1.5 MB

ISBN: 4066338120540